Planning & Zoning


Zoning Dept. Has Relocated: The City Zoning Department has relocated to the office of Community Planning and Economic Development. All Zoning permits are now issued at the new location: 20 W. Federal Street, Suite 602 (20 Federal Place Building).

The City Planning Commission is composed of Seven (7) members, consisting of the Mayor, Director of Law, Commissioner of Engineering, one member of the Park and Recreation Commission who shall be appointed by the Mayor, and three citizens at least one of whom shall be a woman, to be appointed by the Mayor for terms of four years each.

The Mayor shall be Chairman of the Commission, and the Commissioner of Engineering shall be the Chief Engineer and Secretary thereof. The Commission shall possess the powers and perform the duties prescribed for Planning Commissions by the Revised Code. (Amended November 5, 1935.)

The City's Design Review Committee meets the first Tuesday of the month at 9:00am. The City's Planning Commission/Board of Zoning Appeals meets every third Tuesday of the month at 1:30pm. Both meetings are held in Council Chambers, 6th Floor, City Hall.

All future development is guided by Youngstown's internationally recognized, award winning comprehensive plan, Youngstown 2010.

Special thanks go out to all in the community that got involved in the Youngstown Redevelopment Code project. The Code has been approved and is now referred to as the Zoning Code. The new document and map book may be found below in the "Regulations, Forms & FYI" section.

Frequently Asked Questions

What do I have to do to have my property re-zoned?

Contact the Planning Office at 330.742.8842 to discuss the options.

Regulations, Forms & FYI


Land Bank Program

Design Review

Miscellaneous and FYI

Contact Information

20 W. Federal Street
Suite 602
Youngstown , OH 44503
Office Phone:330.742.8842
Hours:Monday thru Friday 8:00 am to 4:00 pm
Name Title/Phone/E-mail
William D'Avignon Deputy Director Planning/Director Community Dev.
Ray DeCarlo Zoning Specialist
Karen Perkins Zoning Analyst
T. Sharon Woodberry Director, Community Planning/Economic Development